🌟 Arc Review 🌟 The Last House On Needless Street by Catriona Ward

Thank you Netgalley and Macmillan, Tor/Forge for this incredible and intense arc, The Last House On Needless Street by Catriona Ward.

Okay….. ooookkkkaaaayyy… honestly ya’ll, I’m having difficulties figuring out where to start with this book bc it literally led me in every direction possible and impossible alike. And, I mean that in a good way!

Meet Ted. Ted is quite strange. Not only does he eat really unique food combinations but his daily life/habits are quite questionable. He has a daughter named Lauren…. he also has a homosexual cat named Olivia. The living arrangements seem a little off, just not clear on where everybody spends their time. Definitely awkward… creepy.

The reader will have different narrators each chapter, Ted, sometimes Lauren, Olivia the cat… also Dee. Dee is an interesting character. She is searching for her little sister lulu who has been missing for some time. And all of this is connected but probably not at all in a way you might presume.

This story, horror story, is bizarre and full of secrets within secrets like those Russian wooden dolls… always more to see than meets the eye! I was completely shocked over and over again. I could have sworn I knew what was really going on and still, another twist and another turn!

This story truly speaks on survival and hope. The way a mind copes with fear and suffering. I highly recommend this read. It is truly unlike anything I’ve read before. Treat yourself to this mind bending ride this Halloween/fall season!

Expect this on Sept. 28th!

🌟 Arc Review 🌟 When Things Get Dark by Ellen Datlow

Thank you Netgalley and Titan Books for this incredible arc!

When Things Get Dark is a compilation of stories (18) that were inspired by the Brilliant Shirley Jackson. And, yes, every single story in this book is a perfect fit with Jackson’s style. Perhaps more modern, not the literal exact style, but really the ideas. It’s in my opinion that Shirley Jackson’s work was so frightening because it made me so curious, curious about the characters minds, my own ability to grasp her full meaning and how she left me thinking, always thinking.

There are some great authors involved, Seanan Mcguire and Paul Tremblay to name a few. This book was compiled and edited by Ellen Datlow who always produces remarkable collections of short stories.

I definitely had a few favorites but I loved every piece of this book. I felt an unease at times, some making me face the strange and unnatural, and some that were simply brilliantly terrifying.

I can not recommend this more for fans of Shirley Jackson and really, fans of all horror. This is a perfect read to get you in the mood for Fall weather and a spooky Halloween 👻

Look for this on Sept. 21st!

🌟 Arc Review 🌟 Empire of the Vampire, Exclusive Sample, by Jay Kristoff

Thank you Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for this incredible exclusive sample of the amazing Jay Kristoff’s new book, Empire of the Vampire!

Okay… oookkkaaaayy now…. I feel like this was the freaking best thing I’ve ever read and I only read the first 400 pages out of a little over 700 pages of this book. What do I say? How can I convince everyone reading my little review that this is a masterpiece? First, it’s Jay Kristoff… that’s point 1 in favor of this book. Second… Vampires. All kinds of Vampires! I’m serious, so many different Vampires happening here and honestly, what more do you need in your life? A home, food, clothing, job etc….. AND VAMPIRES!!!!

Literally sate your thirst by reading this book, obsessing possibly, and perhaps giving it a bite or two just to make sure these pages aren’t actually full of vampire blood that would make you immortal, incredibly sexy with amazing hair, and the ability of becoming simply a very cool person that everyone who sees you stops and stares, wondering Who is that gorgeous brilliant super intelligent person and how can I become their best friend?

Okay, so that’s actually just some bs if you can’t tell. This book centers on Gabriel. He is part vampire but is taught with others like him to fight and destroy the full blooded Vampires and the wretched(mindless creepers roaming and attacking innocents). They are taught all the skills to fight but really their biggest weapon is their faith in God which lights up the silver tattooed on their bodies that is quite destructive towards the Vampires.

The reader really meets Gabriel years later when he has somehow been caught by Vampires and the main thing he is going through is just telling his whole story to a chronicler (vampire) named Jean-Francois. This is really brilliant. The back and forth between these two mixed with Gabriel’s incredible story is simply hypnotizing in the sense, for me, that it kept me very interested and I did not want to stop reading…. (honestly if someone could just, you know, throw the last 300 pages In my direction that’d be really great…)

I do not want to go into anymore detail because I think the story should be shrouded in secrecy and mystery. If you order the book I suggest sitting in a dark cold room in a creaky chair and reading by the light of a single candle. Or, perhaps a comfy couch or chair with a blanket and pillows and a puppy or kitten curled up asleep in your lap. Just, whatever.

Obviously I recommend this! Collect your vials of blood and be prepared to stay up all night reading this awesome book!

🌟 Arc Review 🌟 The Dead and the Dark by Courtney Gould

Thank you Netgalley and Wednesday Books for this incredible arc!

Wow! What a great creepy read! This is perfect for fans of spooky and chilling reads that are YA and LGBTQIA+ friendly.   All of these things combined made this one of my favorites while also getting me in the mood for Halloween and October and Fall in general,  lol. Ya’ll it’s so hot where I live, give me some autumn feels!

Logan arrives to Snakebite (a very small town in Oregon) with her dad, Alejo, to meet up with her other dad, Brandon.   However,  so much makes them stand out in this town.  Gay dads with a gay daughter and not only that (yes, this town is totally backwards) but when Brandon arrived 6 months prior to Logan and Alejo, a kid went missing and everyone thinks it’s their fault.  Oh, and I forgot to mention that the dads have their own ghost hunting show called Paraspectors! (So cool). 

Now, meet Ashley Barton.  A popular girl in this small town and also girlfriend to the missing kid, Tristan.   Get ready for a slow burn romance () and some serious ghost hunting once Logan and Ashley start hanging out (to the rest of the town’s dismay).

This book deals with some serious issues like, homophobia, grief, and true loneliness.   Snakebite is a town full of secrets and the Dark is waiting for it’s next victim.  

I love Ashley and Logan so much!! And this book fr gave me CHILLS  and goosebumps! Highly recommend for a scary read.  I need to give trigger warnings for violence, grief and homophobia.

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, A Quick Review

This story takes place in the year 1950 and follows the confident and beautiful Noemi. After being called away from a costume party by her father, she is told that she absolutely must go to her cousin, Catalina, and try to get to the bottom of the disturbing message she has sent them from her new home at the mansion High Place. It’s when Noemi arrives at this once beautiful and grand, but now grandly dilapidated, house that the creepiness begins. Noemi is a strong-willed woman and brave, however she cannot make sense of the visions and illusions that haunt her in High Place or the strange state of her cousin. This book is creepy in every way and the characters have stayed on my mind since I finished reading. The idea behind this tale is disturbing and pushed me to wonder about the morbid and hateful ideals spoken of throughout this book. It’s not just the actual imagery of horror but the mindset that created it in the first place, the master of the house and his whole horrible objective. There were parts that had my skin crawling with chills and goosebumps. Definitely a great read for this spooky season!

The Raven by Jonathan Janz, A Quick Review

This action packed thriller set in a post apocalyptic world follows Dez as he attempts to find someone that was taken from him. Dez is a Latent, meaning he doesn’t have any powers. When the world went crazy, people everywhere developed Supernatural powers turning them into the monsters of myth. This dangerous world is not only horrifying but incredibly interesting in its structure. Little did I know when I began reading this book how much I would love it. I loved Dez’s character and felt like I was part of the story, at times feeling like he was speaking directly to me particularly when he was journaling. Overall The Raven was a really fun read and a perfect fit for this creeptastic time of year!

After Sundown edited by Mark Morris, A Quick Review

This was a great collection of horror short stories. All the authors involved are incredibly talented at creating creepy atmospheres that would frighten anyone. From monsters to simply unsettling themes, this collection contains it all. I highly suggest this to anyone looking for a scare!

Monstre: Volume One by Duncan Swan, A Quick Review

This was so intense! Right from the very beginning to the very last line in this debut novel by Duncan Swan. The apocalypse has come for our planet, and it begins in a really interesting way which the reader learns about towards the end. This is not a typical horror novel. It covers two different time periods, day 0 and onward, and then starting at day 89 and onward. I loved seeing this play out with the different characters and their point of view. Also, the monsters themselves are very creepy and wow, INTENSE. I think creepy is the perfect word for this, literally giving me chills at times. A gory, creepy and intense ride into a world turned into a nightmare, read at your own risk!

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

The Outsider by Stephen King, A Quick Review

What a perfect start to my Spooktacular Fall Reads! King did not let me down. The beginning especially, the first 300 pages or so, were incredibly suspenseful. I had no idea what was happening until a certain character basically laid it out. This book was full of creepy surprises and was based on a horrifying murder of a young man. This murder led to an arrest but also many other questions which personally held me in the most suspense. This book was published in 2018 and I must say that King still has the crown of “Master of Horror ” with his real world horrific events mixed with the supernatural.